Road Trippin’!!!

So that other dood on this blog told me the other day that I’m not carrying my weight cuz I haven’t been posting anything.   Well, I’ve been a little busy studying for this damn bar exam and I haven’t had anything to write about.  But the exam is over and I just took a quick little trip and remembered to bring along my camera.  So here goes…

Do you ever wonder what us non-Cali guys do when we need car parts??  You’re right we go online and mail order that shiz, but every once and a while it can be easier, and a whole lot cheaper, to take a quick trip to So-Cal and pick the goods up yourself.  With the bar exam done and not much going on, I decided to tag along with Marvin and Dickson on their one day road trip for parts!!!

Marvin and Dickson were picking up some body kit stuff so that they could make their cars look pretty.  Unfortunately, I would not be partaking in any FRP madness, but I was hoping to find something else to take home since we were going to be around quite a few shops.

We met up at Marvin’s place a little past 7am and jumped into Dickson’s truck with nothing other than cash and an empty truck bed.  We figured we could get there around noon, grab some food, check out a few shops, go pick up the kits and drive home the same day.  For the most part, this trip went pretty smooth.  Dickson drove the whole way without any problems and Marvin sat quietly in the back since my fat ass wouldn’t fit well back there.  Thanks Marvin, my legs thank you very much!!

Dickson driving the speed limit!!

Dickson with both hands on the wheel and driving the speed limit!!

Marvin's too cool for the front seat

Marvin's too cool for the front seat

The only thing crazy about the drive there was that there were so many cops out and about.  I guess that’s what its like when you Cali people drive back Monday morning after a weekend in Vegas?  Sux.  Well, we got into Torrance around noon as planned so first thing first, we had to find some good grub.  We quickly found a Korean BBQ restaurant that caught our eye “$11.99 ALL YOU CAN EAT”.  Korean BBQ was gonna be the perfect treat for our one day road trip.  Well, we got inside and found out $11.99 was only for the pork belly and brisket.  It was like $15.99 if you wanted more variety.  Still a good deal and the place was pretty tasty, but we got tricked, haha.

P8030006

I think this was the last three pieces of meat.  We were so hungry, we ate just about everything!!

I think these were the last three pieces of meat. We were so hungry, we ate just about everything!!

We still had a couple hours to kill so we decided to look for some shops with parts on display.  Maybe we could find some extra goods to bring back with us.  Not being locals, this gonna be kind of a crap shoot.  Luckily, we wrote down a couple addresses before leaving home, so we had a place to start.  First on our list was Signal.  We found it but didn’t go in, we wanted to find something with more stuff on display.  So next on our list was Autobacs!!

Tiny shop, they even do oil changes!!

Tiny shop, they even do oil changes!! I wonder if they work on their company cars here.

I guess Autobacs is now called Super Autotoyz.  I think Autobacs went out of business and the store was bought by a new owner and rebadged.  Still, there’s nothing like this in Vegas.  It’s like a super Pep Boys with a big inventory of aftermarket goodies.  I don’t think most of the prices are as competitive as some online stores, but merely putting the stuff on display makes it that much more tempting to make an unexpected purchase.  I was sure to find something to buy here.

its like toys'r'us for car junkies

its like toys'r'us for car junkies

We looked up and down the aisles.  Marvin and Dickson quickly found some wide rear view mirrors to buy, but I wasn’t gonna have any of that.  I can barely see out my hatch and a bigger rear view ain’t gonna help much.  I wandered over to the suspension aisle.  Ah, so nice to see this stuff just hanging there for you to touch.  And it’s about time I get rid of the stock dampers and lowering springs.  Unfortunately, the prices for their coilovers kind of sucked.  There was nothing really there for me to buy, so I opted for the next best thing.  I was on the search for some Silicon Hoes!!!  AND I GOT ME SOME!!!

P8030014

gotta love them hose!!!

gotta love them hose!!!

I would normally not spend so much on radiator hoses, but this shit was soooo cheap!!!  It was on sale so I basically ended up paying the same price as the oem stuff.  I was happy, hahaha.

It was now time to pick up the real goods.  We headed over to D-Max for the body parts.  Bernard at D-Max was really cool and had everything pretty much ready for us to go and even helped us load the truck.  I was just sitting there in awe cuz I’ve never seen so many unpainted bumpers and hoods at one time.  I was just thinking how this place is like heaven for 240 guys (they don’t make anything for my Z yet).

FRP heaven!!!

FRP heaven!!!

check out the truck.  Dickson was really careful tightening everything down, GOOD JOB!!!

check out the truck. Dickson was really careful tightening everything down, GOOD JOB!!!

It was pretty scary seeing the truck loaded up this way.  Remember, we were gonna be driving on the I-15 at night for like 4 or 5 hours with this precious cargo.  We loaded everything carefully and strapped it down the best we could.  For the most part, we had no problems at all on our way back.  We were nervous and stopped a couple times to check the ropes and tighten things here and there.  But other than a little wariness, the trip was really successful.  We arrived back at Marvin’s place just a little before midnight.  It was good stuff!!!

look at how the wind deformed the box on our trip back home.  we were tripping out at first because we thought that the body parts were gonna be cracked when we got home.  fortunately, everything was perfect!!

look at how the wind deformed the box on our trip back home. we were tripping out at first because we thought that the body parts were gonna be cracked when we got home. fortunately, everything was perfect!!

Marvin asked that I don’t post any pics of the actual body kits they bought.  Marv and the other guys have a few surprises for us coming up in the next few months and I can’t wait to see what happens.  I’ll keep you guys posted.

One Response to “Road Trippin’!!!”

  1. very nice!

Leave a Reply

