Remembering>> Hachi Days

GetAttachment-11.aspx

I was just opening up emails i saved from 4-5 years ago… and i came across a folder gallery of my corolla drifting back in the days. this is pretty much the 3rd -4th year of me driving the s13, and im gonna be honest with you i miss those crazy moments with the corolla. it may have been because im seing the corolla again everyday since we moved it into our garage last sunday… just gives me the memories of what was like when i was learning how to drift… those days! the happiest moment i would say in my drifting experience. the pictures i have save doesn’t go back to the autocross days. but i’ll share what i have saved. GetAttachment-1.aspx

this picture was taken in the back of the shop… dont remember the year but it has to be at least 4 years ago. obviously it was on jackstands for a reason, i remember prepping this car for a competition event in california. i think it might be the 1st jusdrift competition before the topdrift series started. on the lest side of this picture you can see a “chuki” black s13… it was my daily driver back then and guess what it is now?

GetAttachment-6.aspx

this was taken back in 2004… i believe this was a staff day before the winter break. JT’s blue coupe with a newly swapped GZE motor was in front, Andy’s modiride sponsored 350Z, Charlie’s Federal s13, Me on the yellow corolla, and Henry with his infamous pink fc3s. Tommy Suell took this shot from the top, his car blew a tranny this daw and wasnt able to run the demo with us.

GetAttachment-4.aspx

this is me, henry, and charlie still running… as you can see the “gangster” line was not even done back in the days… but we were doing some crazy stunts back then… always trying to get the shallow line to be closer to the higher hp cars of my team mates.

pic2

me and charlie at the ring… this was like after 5-6 continuos lap… i think i passed him on the last one! hahaha

GetAttachment-8.aspx

ok, now the corolla turns green. early 2005 @ the driftfest comp in las vegas. i believe this was the 1st event when me and Tommy turned green and acquired our Federal sponsor. you can tell how fresh our paint was. This was also my 1st real tandem competition. one of the memorable events i did with the corolla.

GetAttachment-9.aspx

mid day breakdown! this event was a 2 day event… on saturday i broke my car during practice… shattered my clutch and i had to sit in the sidelines to watch Tommy and them tear it up. good thing it was in vegas, my dad and mark was able to leave work early and change my clutch before the ending of the practice session. i remember them taking the tranny out, replacing the clutch and installing back together in 30 mins! i was able to do a couple practice runs before the end of the 1st day.

GetAttachment-10.aspx

comp day, i was paired up with Ed from california. this was top 16 eliminations. i think i was able to qualify  8th place this event.

GetAttachment-11.aspx

1st tandem comp, my 1st pass! thats why this event is one of the memorable one for me. Ed took the wide line and i was able to creep up because this turn was a very long sweeper with a high 3rd gear entry.

GetAttachment-7.aspx

battle of the rolla’s! this was my good friend Kevin Leung driving the red hachi. I was eliminated on this top 8 battle. i straightened out following him… i think i got close and got scared… new paint remember? it was a lesson learned event from me… my dad and friends were so sad that i lost… they were expecting a lot… 😦 after this event i got more aggressive and crashed during a tandem practice with Tommy. buahahaha.

ok, thats all for now. i’ll try to dig up some pictures and share with you guys.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Remembering>> Hachi Days”

  1. Garage_86 Karlo Says:

    bring it once Mike at Willow…lets go tandem !!

    I still remember your 1st sponsor post at C4AG when it was still white !! geez 2003-04

    • haha. actually last year dec i brought the corolla to balcony for the staff day… maybe soon, i’ll talk to my dad and get it prepared for drifting again.

      • That rolla is going to be mine… Oh yes, it is going to be mine… MWAHAHAHA…

        How I wish I can drive that…

        Gotta get my ass of this god forsaken country and up in LV for that to happen 😛

Leave a Reply

